What is yard waste?
Citizens cannot burn household garbage, paper
products, plastics, treated wood, tires, cardboard, packing
material, cloth, glass, street sweepings, pesticides, paint,
aerosol containers or construction materials among other items.
The Burn Pile
extinguish an illegal
backyard fire in southwest Marion County.
Firefighters battle a wildfire in the
Moss Bluff area.
Physically remain in the presence of your burn
pile at all times, and make sure it doesn't produce smoke, soot,
odors, heat, flames or other conditions that create a nuisance
to others (as determined by Marion County Fire Rescue).
Start burning after 9 a.m. and extinguish the
burn pile one hour before sunset.
The Truth and Consequences
- Illegal backyard burning is one of the leading causes of
fires in Florida. During the 2007-2008 fiscal year, MCFR issued
568 illegal burn citations.
The Florida Division of Forestry is responsible for issuing
burn permits for large burns including agricultural,
silvicultural and land clearing operations. For more information
on the permitting process, call (352) 955-2010. Small fires on a
person's property that meet the guidelines do not require a burn
Marion County's burn ordinance closely mirrors Florida state
laws, ensuring consistency of information and enforcement
MCFR does not issue warnings or citation waivers.
Marion County has a Multi-Agency Wildland Task Force composed
of local, state and federal firefighters that meets regularly to
discuss wildfire conditions and fire tactics. This unique and
cooperative effort, initiated just before the unprecedented 1998
wildfire season, maximizes efficiency and ensures a prompt and
coordinated response to wildfires.
Firefighters fight a 20-acre grass fire in
Springs Shores area.
A citizen who starts a backyard fire is
ultimately responsible for any damage it may cause. Marion
County Fire Rescue may also charge citizens for fire suppression
operations, a cost that could range from a few hundred dollars
to tens of thousands of dollars depending on the size of the
fire and amount of resources needed to extinguish it.
This effort holds citizens accountable for
carelessness. It takes only one citizen's negligence to spark a
significant wildfire that can have a devastating impact on
If your fire does not meet all of the
guidelines, you will face the following fines:
First Offense: $50 Fine
Subsequent Offense: $130 Fine
*MCFR does not issue
warnings or citations waivers.
The Division of Forestry and U.S. Forest
Service firefighters work with Marion
County firefighters to control an 80 to 100
acre brush fire in Ft. McCoy